YOUTH TRACTOR & MACHINERY SAFETY CERTIFICATION PROGRAM
The UW-Extension will conduct the Price County Youth Tractor & Machinery Safety Certification Program. This program is for youth, 12 to 18 years of age, who plan on operating a farm tractor on public roadways or work near dangerous farm equipment. After successful completion, students will receive a certificate. Without certification, Wisconsin law prohibits any youth under age 16 from operating a tractor (or self-propelled implement of husbandry) on public roads and Federal law prohibits youth from working near dangerous equipment on farms other than their parents. This course is essential in contributing to the safety of our youth in agriculture.
The tractor safety course includes 24 hours of classroom instruction that offers many hands-on activities. Students also must pass a written exam as well as a driving test. Classroom instruction and the written exam are held at the Phillips High School and the driving exam will be held at the Price County Fair Grounds on HWY H. This certification program is offered for all Wisconsin youth age 12-16, including those from neighboring Counties.
Registration is now open for the 2017!
The tractor safety course will kick-off on Monday June 5th from 8:30-9:15 class orientation for youth to come with a parent and learn about the tractor safety program. Parents may leave or are more than welcome to stay after the 45 minute class orientation. The youth will meet 8:30-12 Monday June 5th through Thursday June 15th at the Phillips High School for instruction. Students will complete a written exam on June 15th as part of that morning’s class. In addition, the youth must pass a driving test which will be after the written exam on June 15th. Classroom instruction and the written exam will be held at the Phillips High School and the driving exam will be held at the Price County Fair Grounds. This certification program is offered for all Wisconsin youth age 12-18, including those from neighboring Counties. Pre-registration for the course must be completed by June 1, 2017. The fee is $20 for those registered no later than June 1st. After that date the fee will be $30.
Registration Information – both the Application and Waiver must be completed.
If you are interested in the program or would like additional information, please contact Jodi Podmolik at 715-339-2555 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org
General registration is online or call Price County UWEX at 715-339-2555